Department and Faculty In University of South Wales

Department and Faculty

Teaching quality and accreditations

Several of USW’s courses have been accredited by professional organisations, highlighting its academic excellence. Accreditations come from a wide range of professional bodies, including:

  • Association of Chartered Certified Accountants
  • British Psychology Society
  • British Computer Society
  • Chartered Institute of Purchasing and Supply
  • Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors
  • Institute of Fire Safety Engineers
  • Skillset Media Academy Wales

Many of USW’s courses are developed alongside professional bodies, and several teaching staff are still actively involved in their chosen industries. This allows students to be taught by modern industry experts and engage with courses that have been specifically designed to meet business expectations and demands.

The university is also heavily involved with high-impact research work. Using collaborative learning practices, it develops and explores solutions to problems within society, culture, and the economy. This includes areas of sustainability, security, and justice, as well as health and wellbeing. In the latest Research Excellence Framework, half of its research was rated ‘world-leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’.

It is also the only UK university to have integrated industry-standard aircraft maintenance qualification ‘EASA Part 66’ with an aerospace honour’s degree, delivered on a single campus. Students can also undertake practical training all over the world with any university-approved Part 145 Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul (MRO) organisation.

Department structure

The University of South Wales is comprised of three faculties and multiple research centres. Its faculties are:

Faculty of Creative Industries

This faculty is split into three schools which are design and digital; production and performance; and the South Wales business school. Offering both undergraduate and graduate degrees, students can study a variety of creative subjects including:

  • Animation and Games
  • Fashion
  • Design and Communication
  • Photography
  • Drama and Performance
  • Film and Visual Effects
  • Music and Sound
  • Journalism and Media

The business school runs specialist subjects including:

Faculty of Computing, Engineering and Science

This faculty’s three schools are computing and mathematics; engineering; and applied sciences. Subjects that can be studied at undergraduate and graduate levels include:

  • Biological sciences
  • Built Environment
  • Computing and cybersecurity
  • Chemical and Pharmaceutical science
  • Engineering (Aerospace, Applied, Automotive, Civil, Electric and Electronic and Mechanical)
  • Environmental Sciences
  • Forensic sciences
  • Medical Sciences
  • Maths and data science
  • Quantity surveying
  • Natural History
  • Renewable energy
  • Sound and live event production

Faculty of Life Sciences and Education

This faculty is comprised of four schools. These are psychology and therapeutic studies; health, sport, and professional practice; care sciences and education, early years, and social work.

Specialist subjects within these departments include:

  • Chiropractic
  • Education
  • Criminology
  • Football coaching and development
  • Psychology
  • Health Sciences
  • Psychotherapy and Counselling
  • Public health
  • Sport
  • Working with children and families 

Leave a Comment